Why we write

I’ve always been curious as to why writers write.  What drives them to the computer or notepad to carefully craft out a story and painstakingly choose each and every word?  It’s a question that has been asked before to writers of all kind.

***

Some famous authors have confessed the reasons why they write:

“The only thing that makes me crazier than writing is not writing,” Sara Gruen

“I write to dream; to connect with other human beings; to record; to clarify; to visit the dead. I have a kind of primitive need to leave a mark on the world. Also, I have a need for money.” Mary Karr

“If I don’t write to empty my mind, I go mad,” Lord Byron

“My aim is to put down on paper what I see and what I feel in the best and simplest way.” Ernest Hemingway

“Writers write about what obsesses them. You draw those cards. I lost my mother when I was 14. My daughter died at the age of 6. I lost my faith as a Catholic. When I’m writing, the darkness is always there. I go where the pain is.” Anne Rice

***

Sometimes I’m not sure why I write, and other times is so clear that I can’t keep myself away from it.  I write to sort out my thoughts, to find myself, to create, and because frankly it’s a sick obsession.  I love being able to string a series of words together and feel something after I read it.  That feeling brings me back to writing again and again.

We all have different reasons for writing.  What’s yours?

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “Why we write

  1. Ben says:

    Someone asked me this a while ago, and it resulted in a somewhat eloquent blog post on the subject. I finished, i remember, with a quote from George Orwell’s essay on the same topic:

    “Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.”

    – George Orwell, ‘Why I Write.‘

  2. Raymond says:

    Hmmm. Well I write because I love words and I love ‘creating’ worlds, and places, and feelings on the page. I write horror because I love to examine the human psych in situations where a persons real character, their real response and even their beliefs are tested. Congrats btw on the Freshly Pressed!

  3. I write because my conscience leaves me no other choice. -inspired by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr

Don't be shy!

