Growing Up

Remember, when you were a little kid and the years seemed to drag out?

If I could tell my younger self one thing, it would be to “Slow Down.” Back then I was so eager to grow up. My parents felt like enemies and I couldn’t wait to get out on my own.

Almost 10 years ago to the day, I moved out on my own and spent the next several years racing carelessly through life. Before I knew it, I was on a slippery slope of self-destruction. This led to a lot of wasted years, shame and guilt.

I’ve been watching the clock today, wishing it would take my advice too. Naturally, the minutes keep passing one at a time, inching me closer to tomorrow – my 27th birthday, which should be exciting.

Turning 27 doesn’t make me feel “old” necessarily, but has left me reflecting back on those lost years. I believe there is always time to change the direction of your life, and I’m trying to remind myself that I’m doing just that. Today, however, it just feels hard to remember…

I’m sure I’m not the only one who has felt this way about a looming birthday. What did/do you do to cheer yourself up? I’d love to hear!

Tagged , , , , ,

Don't be shy!

