I am a…..writer?

I’ve struggled with labeling myself as a “writer” for a long time.  Sure, I’ve written stories, essays, journal entries etc. for most of my life – but does that really qualify me as a writer?  I didn’t think so. 

I’ve always told myself that someday I would be a “real writer.”  Like when Pinocchio was magically turned into a real boy, someone would wave their wand and ta-da!   

Until recently, I felt stuck as a wanna be – nothing more than a silly puppet with big dreams. 

I’m not sure where the thought came from, but I woke up one morning  and realized that if I ever expected to turn my dreams into reality, I had to start acting and thinking like a writer.  The first step:  calling myself a writer.  It sounds so simple that it’s almost silly. 

As scary as it felt to put myself out there, I trusted my gut and abilities.  I started this blog and a twitter account.  I remind myself daily what my goals are and have a clear plan to accomplish them. 

I may not be published (yet!), but I now proudly call myself a writer

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “I am a…..writer?

  1. Published or not, it looks like you’re already a writer! You’re just working towards making it pay the bills. 😉

Don't be shy!

